Every Island, Every Village, Every Family

DCCA - Rota
DCCA - Tinian
CCDF – Child Care Development Fund
CCLP – Child Care Licensing Program
DYS – Division of Youth Services
HPO – Historic Preservation Office
LIHEAP – Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program
NAP – Nutrition Assistance Program
OA – Office on Aging
previous arrow
next arrow

Hafa Adai, Tirow Wóómi, and Welcome! Thank you for visiting the official website of your CNMI Department of Community and Cultural Affairs (DCCA).


The mission of the Department of Community and Cultural Affairs is to oversee the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands’ functions in the area of human and social services, historic and landmark conservation and preservation, and activities to preserve the Chamorro and Carolinian heritages and traditions.


The Department of Community and Cultural Affairs (DCCA) was created in 1978 (Public Law 1-8, Chapter 7) with the signing of the Covenant to establish the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI) in political union with the United States of America. DCCA is an executive branch agency, responsible to the Governor through the Secretary.

The DCCA Office of the Secretary oversees the operation and administration of the following eleven (11) divisions and programs:

  • Chamorro-Carolinian Language Policy Commission (CCLPC)
  • Child Care Development Fund (CCDF)
  • Child Care Licensing Program (CCLP)
  • Commonwealth Council for Arts and Culture (CCAC)
  • Commonwealth Respite Service Program (CRSP)
  • Division of Youth Services (DYS)
  • Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP)
  • Historic Preservation Office (HPO)
  • Nutrition Assistance Program (NAP)
  • Office of Aging (OA)
  • Sports and Recreation Program (SRP)

The DCCA Office of the Secretary is headquartered on Capitol Hill on the CNMI’s capital island of Saipan. Satellite offices are also located on the islands of Rota and Tinian. Satellite offices are headed by resident directors appointed by the Mayors of Rota and Tinian, respectively.