Skip to content


"Every Island, Every Village, Every Family...”


The Department of Community and Cultural Affairs was created in 1978 with the signing of the Covenant to establish the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI) in political union with the United States of America.

DCCA is an executive branch agency, responsible to the Governor through the Secretary.

DCCA's mission is to oversee CNMI functions in the area of human and social services, historic and landmark conservation and preservation, and activities to preserve the Chamorro and Carolinian heritages and traditions.

The Office of the Secretary oversees the operation and administration of nine divisions and programs under the Department of Community & Cultural Affairs. They are the Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program, the Childcare Licensing Program, the Office of Aging, the Commonwealth Council for Arts and Culture, the Chamorro Carolinian Language Policy Commission, the Historic Preservation Office, the Nutrition Assistance Program, the Child Care Development Fund, and the Division of Youth Services.

DCCA is headquartered on Capitol Hill on the capitol island of Saipan.

Satellite offices are also located on the islands of Rota and Tinian. Satellite offices are headed by resident directors appointed by the Mayors of Rota and Tinian, respectively.